A More Excellent Way …

Posted: February 6, 2010 in Creativity and / or The Arts, Faith, Teaching or Mentoring
This was origionally a blog published on May 8, 2006 in another place but I wanted to include it here.
 
A More Excellent Way

Every once in a while I google my name to see what pops up. (when did google become a verb anyway?) It used to mainly bring up album covers I did the photos or graphics for.

Last night I did it and was surprised to find something quite different showing up. One of my old music students, who is away at college now, and who I still spend time with when he is in town, had me listed as one of his heros on his My Space page. Nothing could have made me happier.

For years I did photography and media projects that were seen by literally millions of people. But the more I spent time with teenagers at my church I realized that a lot of them didn’t have adults outside of their immediate families that were commited to investing in their lives and their futures. More and more I began the shift away from doing media for a living towards teaching and also mentoring. It doesn’t pay as well. But I know that ultimately, what I’m going to leave behind is a lot more valuable. I don’t think God cared all that much for the big, bitchin’ media projects… but I know he cares for the lives of my students.

The students I invest in will go on to make a difference in their worlds long after I’m gone. If I do my job right, the kid’s they invest in will go on long after them. Long live that kind of legacy. Long live my students who are out to change their worlds!

Leave a Reply

