Now I Lay Me Down To Sleep….

Posted: December 29, 2011 in Comfort, Faith, Friends and Family, Life, Overcoming Cancer, Thankfulness, Uncategorized

Wednesday, December 28, 2011 (8:55am)

Now I Lay Me Down To Sleep…

Today is surgery day. I’ve got great surgeons and I’m hoping for the best. I’ll be asleep and trust that they have my best interests in mind, and that they will be able to do healing work I can’t do for myself. I have to give up control and trust. But I believe that it is God who ultimately holds my life in the palm of His hand. He has certainly walked with me though so much in my life time. I have no doubt it will be the case this time too.

It is a good thing knowing that there’s very little about my life’s journey I would change. I’ve always tried to live in the moment and to invest in the lives of the people who are a part of my world. This journey with cancer has made me even more committed than ever to make the most of the time I have and to live with passion.

This has been a hard season. I’m very tired physically, but I have a renewed sense of purpose. On the front of my teaching notebook, where I keep my study plans for my students etc I have this quote:

“Courage doesn’t always roar

Sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying…

I will try again tomorrow”

For years now my life has been measured day by day, and many times moment by moment. Here’s to once again dedicating each of those moments, long or short, to the Creator, who has loved me all along the way, and to you too, the precious gifts that God has placed in my life. All my love to you all. I’m looking forward to our next time together.

Comments
  1. Anya says:

    Linda,

    I hope your surgery went well. Please let me know if I can help you around the house or need me to do anything for you. I will make a donation to your fund to pay for expenses around the house or towards your medical bills. I am praying for you my friend.

    Love you my sister in Christ.

  2. itsakoolife says:

    You don’t know me, but I am new to the world of blogging and happened upon your blog. I have only read this entry so far but am touched. I look forward to reading more. I hope your surgery went well. I applaud your courage, tenacity and clarity.

    • Thanks so much for stopping by my blog. I’m amazed at how many kindred spirits I’ve found online in the blogging community. I’m looking forward to looking at more of your blog posts as well. By the way, I live in North San Diego County. The surgery did go well. I’ll try to post about it soon. 🙂 I’ll see you at your blog. 🙂

Leave a Reply

